Fotos

Photographer's Note

The existing building is erected on the foundations of the Hotel de la Compagnie, which was constructed around 1733; it was called Ancien gouvernment in 1748, then, Logement du gouverneur in 1753. Destroyed by the British, this edifice, called Hotel du Gouvernement, was rebuilt in 1766-68 by Bourcet; in 1820, it was ruined again; it was restored by Spinasse. Since then it has undergone several modifications but without changing the general plan of the mansion.

Government House (Raj Nivas) is a harmonious blend of French and Indian style architecture. It was once the location of the Hotel de la Compagnie (the French trading company that ruled in Puducherry from its first settlement in 1674 until the French government took over in 1769) and later played host to the French Governor General.

It is now residence of the Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry Union Province. It is not open to the general public except on certain national holidays like Republic Day on 26th January.

(Source: Puducherry Tourism)

Impossible to get a closer picture for obvious reasons.

pajaran, lousat, ikeharel, Gigidusud, jhm, papagolf21, pierrefonds, Fis2, Cricri, mcmtanyel, ourania ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1317
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10646 W: 63 N: 29872] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH