Fotos

Photographer's Note

Picture House is located in the Lower Park of Oranienbaum.
It was built in 1752 - 1755 years by the architect Rastrelli. Originally intended as an opera house, where were the ballets and operas, cantatas performed, arranged masquerades, and on the street, in the garden - fireworks. Subsequently, the house was the picture. It has placed a huge collection of paintings, consisting of more than three hundred oil paintings - one of the first collections of Western European painting. The building also has a library and cabinet of curiosities that have historic value added complete the Picture House as one of the first museums in Russia. Composition of the building is simple, and architectural decoration reserved. It recalls the decoration of buildings first quarter of XVIII century.

Nobody ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1181
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Vitaly Bichayev (Vitaly) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 56 W: 0 N: 123] (1025)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH