Fotos

Photographer's Note

The original church was designed by G D Coleman of the Madras army and was built from 1834 to 1837. The Church was struck by lightning twice and became damaged. In 1852, it was declared unsafe and was demolished to make way for the present building.

The present Cathedral was designed by Colonel Ronald Macpherson of the Madras army and was built between 1856 and 1864, using Indian convict labourers.

In 1870, it was elevated to the status of a Cathedral. It was named St.Andrew’s after the patron saint of Scotland in recognition of the generosity of the Scottish community in contributing a large amount of money for the construction of the church. During the Japanese invasion, the Cathedral was used as a casualty station for the wounded and remained open for worship.

Picture by: Hussein Kefel

Nobody ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Hussein Kefel (Hussein_Kefel) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 43 W: 0 N: 118] (825)
  • Genre: Lugares
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2002-06-23
  • Categories: Arquitectura
  • Exposición: f/5.0, 1/500 segundos
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versión de la foto: Versión original
  • Date Submitted: 2008-05-16 0:27
Viewed: 4579
Points: 4
Discussions
Additional Photos by Hussein Kefel (Hussein_Kefel) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 43 W: 0 N: 118] (825)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH