Fotos

Photographer's Note

the vault of Gueulaz is dedicated to Our-Lady-of-Snows, it was built between 1975 and 1976 to replace the old vault of Émosson drowned by water of the dam Émosson. The old vault was set up in the middle of the plate of Émosson in 1750, the priest of Finhaut there celebrated each year a mass, the day of the blessing of the mountain pasture, for the rest of the heart of the unhappy combatants of the battle of Émosson, the former priest of Finhaut, Marcel Michellod, contributed much to the construction of the new vault. It was inaugurated and blessed by Monseigneur Henri Salina, abbot of Saint-Maurice, on July 17, 1977, Small history: The inhabitants of French Giffre (Savoyard) and of Sort Valaisan (Salvanins) disputed during the ages the mountain pastures of Barberine and Émosson which belonged to the territory of the Abbey of Saint-Maurice; this one will be dispossessed of its rights only in 1798. In spite of precise delimitations brought to the pastures of Émosson, of Barberine and the Old man-Emosson, on July 18, 1307, by Jacques of Having, abbot of Saint-Maurice, and by Guillaume of the Villette, prior of Chamonix, eternal arguments for these grounds opposed the two parts. One August 6, 1323, the Valaisans seized the herds on the mountain pasture of Émosson. One came to the weapons in the plain from Émosson. The Savoyard ones were beaten, " Another sight of the vault since a souvenir shop on the carpark the restaurant "
" a sight of the vault taken since the path or one with discovered traces of dinosaures "

snunney, cbrman, Budapestman, parbo, cherryripe, patdeph, jhm, jaywalker ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2032
Points: 66
Discussions
Additional Photos by dominique france (kermit350) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1478 W: 161 N: 1976] (9016)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH