Photographer's Note

Το μουσείο του Λούβρου (γαλλικά: Musée du Louvre) είναι ένα από τα μεγαλύτερα και παλαιότερα μουσεία τέχνης στον κόσμο. Βρίσκεται στο κέντρο του Παρισιού, στις όχθες του Σηκουάνα και εκθέτει 35.000 έργα τέχνης - το 8% των αποκτημάτων του, που υπολογίζονται στα 445.000 κομμάτια [1]. Οι μόνιμες συλλογές του μουσείου καταλαμβάνουν συνολικά έκταση 60.600 τετραγωνικών μέτρων και ανάμεσα σε αυτές είναι και οι ελληνικές, που καλύπτουν[2] 25 αίθουσες ή χώρους.
Η ονομασία

Το Λούβρο αρχικά ήταν φρούριο αμυντικό και υπάρχουν διάφορες εκδοχές για την ονομασία του. Σύμφωνα με την πρώτη, ονομάστηκε Λούβρο λόγω του τοπωνυμίου της περιοχής όπου οικοδομήθηκε - αυτή λεγόταν Lupara. Πιθανολογείται ότι η περιοχή ονομαζόταν έτσι επειδή είχε πολλούς λύκους (στα λατινικά lupus και το θηλυκό, δηλαδή λύκαινα, στην καθομιλουμένη της εποχής εκείνης στη Γαλλία, λεγόταν lupara)[3]. Μια άλλη εκδοχή[4] είναι ότι η ονομασία προέρχεται από την σαξονική λέξη lauer ou lower που σήμαινε το οχυρωμένο φρούριο. Τρίτη εκδοχή: από τη φράση "L'Œuvre" για το αριστουργηματικό έργο, που όμως δεν είναι ιδιαίτερα πιθανή αφού το κτίσμα αναφέρεται ως Λούβρο ήδη από το 1200, όταν ακόμα στο φρούριο δεν υπήρχε καμία συλλογή.

This article is about the museum. For the building, see Palais du Louvre. For higher education, see École du Louvre. For the architectural element, see Louver.

Coordinates: 48°51′37″N 2°20′15″E / 48.860395°N 2.337599°E / 48.860395; 2.337599
Musée du Louvre

The Louvre palace (Richelieu wing)
Musée du Louvre is located in Paris
Location within Paris
Established 1793
Location Palais Royal, Musée du Louvre,
75001 Paris, France
Type Art museum, Design/Textile Museum, Historic site
Visitor figures

8.3 million (2007)[1]
8.5 million (2008)[2]
8.5 million (2009)[dead link][3]

* Ranked 1st nationally
* Ranked 1st globally

Director Henri Loyrette
Curator Marie-Laure de Rochebrune
Public transit access

* Palais Royal – Musée du Louvre Metro-M.svg Paris m 1 jms.svg Paris m 7 jms.svg
* Louvre-Rivoli Metro-M.svg Paris m 1 jms.svg


The Musée du Louvre (French pronunciation: [myze dy luvʁ]), or officially Grand Louvre — in English the Louvre Museum or simply the Louvre — is one of the world's largest museums, the most visited art museum in the world and a historic monument. It is a central landmark of Paris and located on the Right Bank of the Seine in the 1st arrondissement (district). Nearly 35,000 objects from prehistory to the 19th century are exhibited over an area of 60,600 square metres (652,300 square feet).

The museum is housed in the Louvre Palace (Palais du Louvre) which began as a fortress built in the late 12th century under Philip II. Remnants of the fortress are still visible. The building was extended many times to form the present Louvre Palace. In 1682, Louis XIV chose the Palace of Versailles for his household, leaving the Louvre primarily as a place to display the royal collection, including, from 1692, a collection of antique sculpture.[4] In 1692, the building was occupied by the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres and the Académie Royale de Peinture et de Sculpture, which in 1699 held the first of a series of salons. The Académie remained at the Louvre for 100 years.[5] During the French Revolution, the National Assembly decreed that the Louvre should be used as a museum, to display the nation's masterpieces.

The museum opened on 10 August 1793 with an exhibition of 537 paintings, the majority of the works being royal and confiscated church property. Because of structural problems with the building, the museum was closed in 1796 until 1801. The size of the collection increased under Napoleon when the museum was renamed the Musée Napoléon. After his defeat at Waterloo, many works seized by Napoleon's armies were returned to their original owners. The collection was further increased during the reigns of Louis XVIII and Charles X, and during the Second French Empire the museum gained 20,000 pieces. Holdings have grown steadily through donations and gifts since the Third Republic, except during the two World Wars. As of 2008, the collection is divided among eight curatorial departments: Egyptian Antiquities; Near Eastern Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Sculpture; Decorative Arts; Paintings; Prints and Drawings.

Nard, Kofman, PaulVDV, portmanndominic, vasilpro, dip, siolaw, jhm, lilito ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2510
Points: 34
  • None
Additional Photos by NICK IFANTIS (ifanik) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1824 W: 52 N: 3687] (21679)
View More Pictures