Fotos

Photographer's Note

Thury-Harcourt is a French commune in the Calvados department in the Basse-Normandie region in northwestern France. It is situated in an area of Normandy known as La Suisse Normande, some 24 kilometres (15 miles) south of Caen. The original name was Thury, but the Marquis of Thury received a benefice from Henry d'Harcourt under the name of the Duke of Harcourt in 1709, requiring a change of name.

The park and gardens of the Château of the Dukes of Harcourt were constructed in 1635 by Odet d'Harcourt and expanded upon in 1714 and 1723. In the battles of the Second World War, after the Normandy landings the town was bombed for the first time on 30 June 1944; the château escaped damage. During fierce fighting against the British 59th Division on 13–4 August 1944 as the German forces retreated from the town they set fire to the château, which had suffered little damage up to that point. The fire destroyed many public archives, a library of nearly 15,000 volumes, and hundreds of family records. All that remains of the château now is the façade that can be seen here and some outbuildings.

Extracted from an article on Wikipedea.

besnard, Tigerlily, Budapestman, jlbrthnn ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2568
Points: 21
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10627 W: 63 N: 29874] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH