Fotos

Photographer's Note

The arched bridge at the Pouri location, which is considered to mark the end of the mountains and the beginning of the settlement, a classic example of stonemasonry of the era it was build (1514)

This arched bridge was built in 1514 by St. Vissarion, and up to 1936 was the only link between the plains of Thessaly and the villages of Pindos. It is 67m long, 2.05m wide, 30.5m high at the the center and its breast wall is 0.7m high. According to the tradition, because St. Vissarion had no money with which to pay the craftsmen, they stopped work on the bridge. A bear then presented itself, which helped to carry the raw materials but also led the chief craftsman to move a large boulder and uncover a treasure. So the workers were paid and the bridge was completed. According to the same tradition, it was St. Vissarion who first crossed the bridge, and threw the chief craftsman's mallet a few kilometers away, and were the mallet was found, the monastery of St. Vissarion was built (in the north bank of the river, were presently the settlement of St. Vissarion or locally known as Dousiko (Δούσικο) is situated).

> More infos about Pyli municipality...

Photo Information
Viewed: 2760
Points: 74
Discussions
Additional Photos by Mpampis Mantoukas (Xalkida) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 2291 W: 339 N: 2759] (11744)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH