Fotos

Photographer's Note

The Grand Canal of Trieste was designed and built by the Venetian, Matteo Parona in 1756, to make way for the urban development of Trieste by allowing merchant boats access to the heart of the city. The channels perpendicular to the seafront were surveyed extensively and plans were made to excavate them in order to expand the navigable area of the city and allow easy loading / unloading of goods at canal-side warehouses, but the project was later abandoned and the Canal Grande remained the city's only canal. Later, in 1934, the final part of the canal was filled with waste material from demolition work in the Jewish ghetto and the old city. There is even a small torpedo boat lying on the canal bed.
The canal was one of the nerve centers of Trieste's commercial hub. Its banks are still lined with the squares, churches and historic cafés built by the merchants who made the city great: Palazzo Gopcevich, now the home of the Schmidl Museum Theatre and the Photo Library of the Civic Museums, Palazzo Carciotti, Piazza Ponterosso, Piazza Sant'Antonio, built on the in-filled canal section in 1934, the Serbian Orthodox Church of San Spiridone, the Church of Sant'Antonio Taumaturgo, and the historic Stella Polare café (www.discover-trieste.it).

Nobody ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 602
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ecmel Erlat (ecmel) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 131 W: 0 N: 255] (1760)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH