Fotos

Photographer's Note

Abbey of San Benedetto in Fundis - Stroncone

It rises along the road that connects Stroncone to the hamlet of Miranda, between Monte Rotondo and Terminuto, near the so-called “monks spring”.
It is mentioned for the first time in a document of 1181, but the date of its foundation is not known with certainty.
Almost certainly dependent on Farfa, it is supposed that it was built by the monks of this major monastery.
In 1233 he was employed by the monastery of San Matteo in Rieti.
Between 1275 and 1280 he regularly paid tithes to papal collectors.
At the end of the 14th century, also due to the instability of the economic situation, the complex was in poor condition, until in 1492 it was granted in command.
At the end of the seventeenth century it was now in a poor state of conservation; in 1810 it passed to Cardinal Ludovico Gazzoli, who did not stop its structural degradation.Prt learn more: https://www.iluoghidelsilenzio.it/abbazia-di-san-benedetto-in-fundis-stroncone/

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19904 W: 130 N: 42073] (221751)
  • Genre: Lugares
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2022-03-25
  • Exposición: f/0.6, 30 segundos
  • Versión de la foto: Versión original
  • Date Submitted: 2022-03-25 5:26
Viewed: 0
Points: 42
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19904 W: 130 N: 42073] (221751)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH