Fotos

Photographer's Note

The New Castle of Sigulda built in 1878 in the Neo-Gothic style as the living house for the owners of the manor, the Kropotkin family. The building has changed its owners and functions several times.

During WWI this building was destroyed. In 1922, following the agrarian reforms, New Castle became the Writers’ Castle. After large restoration works, full room and board was offered to writers and literary types as well as other visitors.

In 1934 the castle was acquired by the Latvian Press Society. Again complete reconstruction work were done. The overlook tower was heightened, the terrace around the building was expanded and a new balcony was added to the second floor. Inside, a new modern-age interior design was installed. It became the most notable example of national modern design in the Baltic region. The Writers Castle became a popular visitor's destination after the renovation.

During WWII, the New Castle was used as a headquarters for the Nord division of the German army. After the war, the USSR Council of Ministers made it a recreation house for high state officials. In 1953, the Health department of the Latvian SSR established the Sigulda rehabilitation center which was in operation until the restoration of Latvian independence.

From 1993 through 2002, the New Castle held the Sigulda City council and then, beginning in 2003, the Sigulda District Council.

worldcitizen, pajaran, papagolf21, holmertz, PaulVDV ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 643 W: 9 N: 1910] (8040)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH