Fotos

Photographer's Note

Terazije is another popular square in Belgrade. Until the 1830. there was nothing but swampy field far from the moat. The zone got its name from the water towers that the Turks called "terazije" (pump). The expansion of Terazije started in 1860 when the water tower was dismantled and a memorial fountain dedicated to prince Milos Obrenovic was built in its place. It’s made of white stone with initials M.O.(for Milos Obrenovic) near the top together with year 1860. In 1911 the fountain was moved to the Topcider Church churchyard. In 1975 the fountain was brought back to Terazije were it still stands as a monument and a fountain. On Terazije you can also see old famous hotel Moskva, Krsmanovic house, Anker palace.

mehmetemin, Vasa, Truja, SlavicaN, vasariste, cfreire, jorgi ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2458
Points: 18
Discussions
Additional Photos by Zorica Helach (zhelach) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 225 W: 55 N: 832] (3626)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH