Fotos

Photographer's Note

The church was first mentioned by priest Scarliachi in his notes from the year 1631, but the remainings of the frescoes suggest that the first church was built in the 15th century. Current building was built in the beginning of 17th century on the foundations of previous ghotic churc.

During the second warld war the church was severely damaged. Italian soldiers turned it into a military building with bunkers around it. Later it was damaged by german artilleries. In 1968 it was partially restored, but the inner restoration was never completed so today the church is practically empty.

steveegg, marjan, miuky, Praetzer, tjanze, jean11-3, amadej, Bandit ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2000
Points: 28
Discussions
Additional Photos by Jernej Trnkoczy (jernej) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 70 W: 0 N: 115] (1113)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH