Fotos

Photographer's Note

The place in the photograph is the old Kayaköy, an abandoned old Greek town originally called Levissi 8 km far from Fethiye.
All of the building groups of the towm leaning against the slope were constructed by the Greeks who had been settled here in the second half of the 19th century and the first quarter of the 20th century in accordance with the rights granted to the minorities in the later periods of the Ottoman Empire. The town was emptied in 1923 because of the exchange of the Greeks living in this region with the Turks living in Western Thrace during the foundation period of the Republic of Turkey. The deterioration of wooden doors, windows and upper coverings of the buildings mainly caused by an earthquake in 1957, turned the ruins into a real "ghost town".

Nobody ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: HAKKI ARICAN (arican) (125)
  • Genre: Lugares
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2007-05-20
  • Categories: Ruínas
  • Versión de la foto: Versión original
  • Date Submitted: 2012-01-29 12:37
Viewed: 3027
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by HAKKI ARICAN (arican) (125)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH