Fotos

Photographer's Note

With 20 acres, The Lake was created by Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux. They imagine the Lake as a place for ice-skating in the winter and boating in the summer.

In December of 1958 the ice-skating place was open. But here we were in summer. in the backgroun we can se the The Loeb Boathouse. The first boat house was built in 1872 by landscape architect Calvert Vaux designed a beautiful, two-story Victorian, wooden boathouse that was all of twelve feet wide and twenty feet long. In 1924 Vaux's boathouse was replaced by a rustic, wooden structure. Only in 1954 the Loeb BOarhouse was officialy open after the investment banker and philanthropist Carl M. Loeb and his wife Adeline generously donated $305,000 to help create it.

The place is very romantic!

pajaran, papagolf21 ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 4
Discussions
Additional Photos by Andre Bonavita (bona) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1346 W: 112 N: 3332] (14813)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH