Photographer's Note


The Greater Blue Mountains Area was inscribed on the World Heritage List at the 24th Session of the World Heritage Committee, held in Cairns from 27 November to 2 December 2000.

It is an area of breathtaking views, rugged tablelands, sheer cliffs, deep, inaccessible valleys and swamps teeming with life. The unique plants and animals that live in this outstanding natural place relate an extraordinary story of Australia's antiquity, its diversity of life and its superlative beauty.

The Greater Blue Mountains Area consists of 1.03 million hectares of mostly forested landscape on a sandstone plateau 60 to 180 kilometres inland from central Sydney, New South Wales. The property includes vast expanses of wilderness and is equivalent in area to almost one third of Belgium.

Despite the dryish climate, vegetation is really rich.

vinicio, tonyking, plimrn ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1932
Points: 12
Additional Photos by Kari Tanskanen (ktanska) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 4553 W: 62 N: 7938] (45094)
View More Pictures