Fotos

Photographer's Note

Chapel of Our Lady of the Pains. Dating back to the year of 1800, this church was once the favorite with local aristocrats. Later it was used mostly by rich women of the society. They would enter the church and watch the services, while their slaves waited outside. The church was renovated in 1901. The altars are dedicated to Nossa Senhora das Dores, and Senhor Bom Jesus. The image of Nossa Senhora da Piedade (Our Lady of the Pains), that is originally from this chapel, was stolen. It was recovered in the 1990's, and now can be seen at the Museum of Sacred Art.
It was the fashioned church in the Imperial times , frequented by the white elite of Paraty. Plant of typical outline of the century XVIII, with only nave and two lateral corridors of access to the sacristy. Their pillar bases are framed in the outline of the mineiras ( from Minas Gerais ) churches: two windows in the choir and a door, without the spyglass in the fronton – that is characteristic on those churches. In prominence the lacy of the internal balconies, the crystal gloss close to the choir and the enclosed cemetery to the church, also in style of catacombs, as in Santa Rita´s church,in Paraty, too.
Scanned from negative.
Taken early n the morning . Shadows/highlights adjust. Desaturated sky a little. Neat image for reducing iso 400 film grain.

Notes from: http://www.ipanema.com/paraty/paraty4.htm
http://www.secturparaty.com.br/ingles/hist_igrejas.asp

naxius, supereira, CristianoFontes, Isabelle, aznegrao ha puntuado esta nota como útil.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3010
Points: 20
Discussions
Additional Photos by Carmem A Busko (carmem_busko) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 565 W: 145 N: 584] (3718)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH